WhatsApp appears to be readying a change to its terms and conditions in the coming months and those that don’t agree may find themselves blocked from the popular chat app. News of this update originally came via the team WABetainfo who spotted and shared screenshots of the upcoming change which suggested the new T&Cs will come into force from February next year.
The notification from WhatsApp read: “By tapping Agree, you accept the new terms, which take effect on February 8, 2021,” the update states.
“After this date, you’ll need to accept the new terms to continue using WhatsApp or you can always delete your account.”
It’s unlikely that most users will want to delete their account, after all, WhatsApp continues to be the most popular chat app on the planet with the Facebook-owned firm recently announcing some 100 billion messages are sent across the platform every single day. There’s no word on what exactly the changes mean for users with the company telling Express.co.uk that they don’t currently have a statement to offer.
However, WhatsApp has confirmed that all users must agree to the new terms by February 8, 2021 if they want to continue using WhatsApp.